Decker takes Ultimate Outlaw 100 in Dundee on Tuesday night

A warm and sunny evening greeted competitors from the Super DIRTcar Series, the DIRTcar Sportsman Series, and the Fight Night All Star Street Stock Series on Tuesday night at Outlaw Speedway. The anticipation was high for the first ever Big Block Modified Super DIRTcar Series event at the facility.

Max McLaughlin and Stewart Freisen brought the field to the green to start the “Ultimate Outlaw 100” Super DIRTcar Series Modified feature. McLaughlin grabbed the lead on the opening lap, but Freisen took the top spot on the next circut. Freisen pulled out a bit of a lead as Matt Sehppard battled with Larry Wight for third. The first caution flew on lap 7 for Marcus Dinkins stalled car in turn four, and on the restart, Wight motored into second and took the lead on lap 16. McLaughlin faded to fifth behind Billy Decker as Sheppard race with Freisen for second. Sheppard used a lapped car to move past Freisen on lap 20 to take second place.

The leaders worked their way through traffic as outside the top five, Alan Johnson and Tim Fuller battled with Keith Flach and Erick Rudolph. A tangle between Peter Britten and Tyler Siri brought the yellow out on lap 26, with Siri getting towed to the pits. Racing resumed on lap 32 as Decker passed Freisen for third and began battling Sheppard and Wight up front. The top four settled in as Johnson used the bottom lane to pass McLaughlin for fifth on lap 38. On lap 41, Sheppard made contact with WIght battling for the lead and spun the car 360 degrees to recover without stopping and fell back to fifth. Decker caught Wight in traffic and they battled for the lead as the race hit the halfway point.

Wight and Decker continued to battle through traffic as Freisen pulled away from the battle between Sheppard and Johnson for fourth and fifth as the race hit the lap 60 mark. Freisen was charging to the front, but spun in turn two and was hit broadside by Tim Fuller, who was running in the top ten. This brought out a yellow and sent Freisen to the hot pit, along with Fuller. Both drivers were able to rejoin the field. The green waved again on lap 68 as Decker used the top lane to motor by Wight to take the lead as Erick Rudolph also went to teh top lane to battle Alan Johnson. Another yellow flew for Mike Mahaney’s spin in turn two on lap 73, which bunched the field again for another restart.

After two restart attempts, racing got back underway on lap 75 as Decker grabbed a ten car length lead. Sheppard and Wight ran side by side for several laps until Sheppard wrestled the spot away on lap 81. Sheppard caught Decker three laps later and the two started to tussle for the lead as the worked traffic. Over the final ten laps, the two treated the crowd to a wild battle, many times running side by side. Sheppard took one last shot off turn four on the final lap but Decker was able to hold him off by one car length. Wight finished third, followed by Johnson and Rudolph.

Super DIRTcar Series heat races were won by Billy Decker, Brett Hearn, and Erick Rudolph. Pat Ward won the consolation event. Max McLaughlin earned the Pole Position Raceway fast time award with a qualifying lap of 14.281.

The 30-lap DIRTcar Sportsman Series race began with Ron Davis III grabbbing the lead, but the caution flew after just one lap for Kevin Root, who had left front damage after a tangle. Dave Marcuccill grabbed second on the restart and started to run down Davis as Rocky Warner battled with Todd Root and Will Shields to crack the top five. Kyle Inman’s night ended with damage as the field again closed up for a lap 9 restart. Davis battled furiously with Marcuccilli and Nick Guererri for a few laps before pulling out an advantage at the halfway point as Shields battled Tom Collins Jr and Todd Root inside the top five. Marcuccilli was able to narrow up the gap on leader Davis on lap 20 and the duo raced hard for the lead. Guererri tagged an infield tire marker and damaged the front end on lap 23, which brought out the caution flag. Marcuccilli took the lead on lap 25 but the race wasn’t over as Warner and Collins caught Davis and they battled to the finish. Marcuccilli took the victory by a few car lengths over Collins and Davis, followed by Warner and Root.

DIRTcar Sportsman Series heat races were won by Rocky Warner, Todd Root, and Dave Marcuccilli. Marcuccilli had the fastest qualifying lap for the DIRTcar Sportsman Series with a lap of 15.909.

Glenn Whritenour was the early leader of the 25-lap Fight Night All Star Street Stock Series feature with Chuck Winslow moving past Jayson Smart into second. Winslow grabbed the lead on lap 3 as Bob Buono battled CJ Guererri for the third spot. Winslow opened up a gap as Guererri settled into a battle for fourth with Lavern Knickerbocker Quinn Sutherland cracked the top five on lap 10 as the race continued under green flag conditions. Jared Hill’s spin on lap 14 erased Winslow’s lead and set up a restart. Winslow was again able to gap out as Sutherland mixed it up with Knickerbocker and Buono for postition, going two and three wide. Sutherland grabbed fourth on lap 17 and battled Buono for third as Whritenour tried to chase down Winslow in the final few laps. Winslow claimed the win over Whritenour, Sutherland, Buono, and Carl Cleveland.

Fight Night All Star Street Stock Series heats were won by Jared Hill, Chuck Winslow, and Quinn Sutherland.

Racing action at Outlaw Speedway resumes on Friday, June 30th with a Super 6 Show headlined by the Friendly Dodge BB/SB Modifieds. The June 30th program will feature the famous $12,000 Outlaw Speedway Fireworks Display. Racing starts at 7:00 p.m. For more information, visit www.outlawspeedwayllc.com.


BILLY DECKER, Matt Sheppard, Larry Wight, Alan Johnson, Erick Rudolph, Jimmy Phelps, Max McLaughlin, Brett Hearn, Pat Ward, Keith Flach, Brandon Winters, Stewart Freisen, Tim Fuller, Mike Mahaney, Peter Britten, Steve Paine, Billy Whitaker, Brian Swartout, Dave Rauscher, Russell Morseman, Justin Haers, Derrick Podsiadlo, Eldon Payne, Randy Chrysler, Tyler Siri, Rich Scagliotta, Marcus Dinkins.

DAVE MARCUCCILLI, Tom Collins Jr, Ron Davis III, Rocky Warner, Todd Rott, Will Shields, Tyler Trump, Zach Sobotka, Tyler Thompson, Jackson Gill, Doug Smith, Jessica Power, Jake Dgien, Eric Williams, Charlie Tibbits, Ricky Thompson, Nick Guererri, Kyle Inman, Luke Carleton, Frank Guererri Jr, Kevin Root, Karl Comfort (DNS).

CHUCK WINSLOW, Glenn Whritenour, Quinn Sutherland, Bob Buono, Carl Cleveland, Lavern Knickerbocker, Lanson Albanese, CJ Guererri, Dave Matwiejow, Jeremy Potrzebowski, Gene Sharpsteen, Jayson Smart, Dennis Cummings, Allison Teed, James Kreidler III, Jared Hill, Trevor Tompkins, Jon Carpenter, Brian DeStephen, Earl Zimmer.

Also on FingerLakes1.com