Feds reject aid for Cayuga, 14 NY counties affected by severe weather

A request by the state for a major disaster declaration covering 15 New York counties affected by flooding and severe weather over the summer has been rejected by the federal government.

Brock Long, administrator of the Federal Emergency Management Agency, informed Gov. Andrew Cuomo in a letter Wednesday that the state's request submitted Aug. 31 was denied.

Long explained that the agency's review determined the damage outlined in the state's request "resulted from separate and distinct events, none of which were of the severity and magnitude as to be beyond the capabilities of the state, affected local governments and voluntary agencies."

The Citizen:
Read More