Dennis will not be next Yates Legislature Chairman

Yates County Legislature Vice Chairman Douglas Paddock was given the authority to act as chairman of the legislature through Dec. 31 in the absence of Chairman Timothy Dennis Monday. In a resolution unanimously adopted by the legislature Dec. 11, Paddock was given the power to, among other things, sign contracts, agreements, and tax warrants on behalf of the county in light of Dennis’s recent absence due to a medical condition.

Dennis, first elected to the legislature in 2007 and re-elected to represent District 2 (Benton, Potter, Torrey) in November for the two-year term beginning Jan. 1, 2018, has served as legislative chairman for four years. He sent a statement to the legislature that was read by Clerk Connie Hayes.

“After much consideration and consultation with my family, I have decided that I will not be a candidate for chairman of the Yates County Legislature for the term starting in 2018. I deeply appreciate the support I have received from the management, staff, and elected officials of Yates County over the last four years. We have always kept the safety and interests of all the citizens of Yates County as our first priority. We have accomplished much, and the county is in good shape to move forward. I will fully support and work with the new leadership of the legislature. Thank you and God Bless,” he wrote.

Paddock commented, “All our thoughts are with Chairman Dennis and we hope he makes a speedy recovery.”

Read More

Also on FingerLakes1.com