Yates, Schuyler Counties to share public health director

Yates County and Schuyler County Legislators approved resolutions Aug. 13 that will allow the two counties to share a Director of Public Health and Deputy Director of Public Health.

Yates County District 1 Legislator Elden Morrison voted against the resolution creating a pilot program through June 30, 2020. Legislators also created a Deputy Director of Public Health position, appointed the current Supervising Public Health Nurse, Sara Christensen, to the position at a salary of $65,966, and abolished her current post as Supervising Public Health Nurse.

Yates County Legislative Chairman Douglas Paddock explains the agreement was developed after Schuyler County officials learned of the pending retirement of Schuyler County Public Health Director Marcia Kasprzyk, RN.

Yates County Public Health Director Deb Minor will provide oversight of the departments in both counties, and Schuyler County will reimburse Yates County a portion of the cost of the two positions.

Paddock explains that New York State Public Health Law allows the State Commissioner of Health to approve the hiring of a single county health officer for up to three counties, as long as the total population for such counties is less than 150,000.

Read More

Also on FingerLakes1.com