Mets’ Pete Alonso finishes seventh in NL MVP voting, Jacob deGrom finishes tenth

Both Pete A and Jacob deGrom took home some major hardware this week, and on Thursday night they followed those up by each finishing in the top 10 of NL MVP voting.

Los Angeles’ Cody Bellinger was voted NL MVP on Thursday, securing 19 of the 30 first-place votes. The left-handed slugger beat out fellow finalists Christian Yelich and Anthony Rendon, who finished second and third, respectively.

See the source image

Alonso, the NL Rookie of the Year, finished in seventh place, receiving two fifth-place votes and finishing with 102 points in the voting system. The slugging first baseman put up power numbers never before seen in MLB history, finishing the season with a major league rookie record 53 home runs.