Write-in candidate wins village election in Cayuga, other elections held on Tuesday

A small handful of votes were the difference makers in Cayuga County, as village elections were held on Tuesday.

In the Village of Cayuga a write-in candidate beat out one of the individuals who actually appeared on the ballot.

Shane Ellis, who did not appear on the ballot, received 26 votes – enough to defeat Patricia Hanford, who received 22. Ellis secured the second of two open seats on the village board, according to The Citizen.

Andrew Wright, who was a named candidate in the race, was the top vote recipient with 29 votes.

Both the winners will serve a two year term.

In Aurora Thea Miller and Janet Murphy won two open seats. Those terms are for four years. Meanwhile Marie Dentes finished in third.

John Clark and Francis Gross Jr. both won four year terms in Weedsport.