Democrats in Cayuga, Oswego, and Wayne counties call for local electeds to renounce Trump or resign

Local Democrats spoke out on Tuesday, condemning the events that unfolded last week in Washington D.C.

The Democratic Committees of Cayuga, Oswego and Wayne counties are calling for members of the state’s Congressional delegation who supported President Donald Trump’s baseless claims about election fraud to resign.

The coalition of party leaders said in a release that the false claims about election fraud, which were repeated by members of the Republican Party, ultimately led to the insurrection last week.

“By standing by the President and false claims of widespread fraud, Representatives Lee Zeldin, Nicole Malliotakis, Elise Stefanik, and Chris Jacobs are complicit in these crimes against our country. They supported the coup attempt to reject electors, and they have violated their oath of office,” they said in a joint-statement.

Cayuga County Chair Ian Phillips, Oswego County Chair Gordon Prosser, and Wayne County Chair Mark Alquist co-signed the statement, which included calls for the public to sign a petition requesting those representatives resignations.

“We also call on our local Republican Supervisors and Representatives in the New York State Assembly and State Senate to renounce President Trump or resign,” they continued. “The American people have cast their ballots for fairly elected Joe Biden and Kamala Harris. Any representatives who undermine the election results or the democratic process have forsaken our American values and must step down.”

Want the latest headlines in your inbox each morning? Click here to sign up for our Morning Edition and Sunday Insight newsletters. They are dedicated to keeping you in the know. You can also download the App for Android (All Android Devices) or iOS (iPhone, iPad)
Support Local Journalism